Frequently Asked Questions


Languages, Czech, Croatian, Danish, Dutch, English (International), English (U.S.), Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian (hyphenation only), Italian, Norwegian, Polish, Brazilian Portuguese, European Portuguese, Russian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish, Swiss-German, Turkish

List of language abbreviations?

ISO 639 is a standardized nomenclature used to classify languages. Each language is assigned a two-letter (639-1) and three-letter (639-2 and 639-3), lowercase abbreviation, amended in later versions of the nomenclature. The system is highly useful for linguists and ethnographers to categorize the languages spoken on a regional basis, and to compute analysis in the field of lexicostatistics. ISO 639 has five code lists.

  • AR Arabic
  • BE Belarusian
  • BG Bulgarian
  • CS Czech
  • CY Welsh
  • DA Danish
  • DE German
  • EL Greek
  • EN English
  • EO Esperanto
  • ES Spanish
  • ET Estonian
  • FI Finnish
  • FR French
  • GA Irish
  • GD Scottish Gaelic
  • HU Hungarian
  • HY Armenian
  • ID Indonesian
  • IS Icelandic
  • IT Italian
  • JA Japanese
  • KO Korean
  • LT Lithuanian
  • LV Latvian
  • MK/SL Macedonian
  • MN Mongolian
  • MO Moldavian
  • NE Nepali
  • NL Dutch
  • NN Norwegian
  • PL Polish
  • PT Portuguese
  • RO Romanian
  • RU Russian
  • SK Slovak
  • SL Slovenian
  • SQ Albanian
  • SR Serbian
  • SV Swedish
  • TH Thai
  • TR Turkish
  • UK Ukrainian
  • VI Vietnamese
  • YI Yiddish
  • ZH Chinese

Read more

What is UNICODE?

Unicode (UCS-2 ISO 10646) is a 16-bit character encoding that contains all of the characters (216 = 65,536 different characters total) in common use in the world's major languages, including Vietnamese. The Universal Character Set provides an unambiguous representation of text across a range of scripts, languages and platforms. It provides a unique number, called a code point (or scalar value), for every character, no matter what the platform, no matter what the program, no matter what the language. The Unicode standard is modeled on the ASCII character set. Since ASCII's 7-bit character size is inadequate to handle multilingual text, the Unicode Consortium adopted a 16-bit architecture which extends the benefits of ASCII to multilingual text.

Read more

What is the UNICODE Standard, Version 5.0?

In Unicode's fifteen-year history, if has become the character encoding standard of choice in new applications. It's the default encoding of HTML and XML; it's the fundamental character type in programming language such as Java, C and JavaScript; and it's the internal character encoding in the Windows and Macintosh operating systems. Virtually all UNIX flavors include support for it, too. Unicode is to computing in the twenty-first century what ASCII was to computing in the twentieth century.

Read more

Japanese line breaks?

Any text document consists of content and layout. The document translation process aims at recreating a document in the target language that is equivalent to the source document in both content and layout. Thus, the document translation process has two main sub processes: content translation and layout adjustment. Content translation must be - and since this is apparent to most people, it generally is - performed by native speakers of the target language.

Read more
Interested in our full range of services and solutions?

Our Clients

Trusted by business worldwide